Home Page

Timberley Academy

Find out about our Reception curriculum

Our Reception Curriculum


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS ) framework sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old. All nurseries and reception classes must follow the EYFS which provides a set of common principles for quality early education and experiences. As well as being the core document for foundation staff, the EYFS framework gives parents and carers confidence that regardless of where they choose for their child’s early education, they can be assured that the same statutory commitments and principles will underpin their child’s learning and development experience.


There are seven areas of learning that make up the EYFS curriculum.

Each of the areas of learning are equally as important and interconnect with one another.


The seven areas are:

Prime areas                                                                                   

• Personal, social and emotional development;

• Communication and Language;

• Physical Development

Specific areas


• Literacy;

• Mathematics ;

• Understanding the World;

• Expressive Arts and Design.


The areas of learning are labelled as ‘Prime’ and ‘Specific’.  The three prime areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning.  The four specific areas include essential skills and knowledge. At Timberley Academy we plan for a range of activities that provide your child with a well balanced curriculum ensuring coverage of the seven areas. For further detailed information about our Reception curriculum, please click on the EYFS link below.


End of Reception Expectations

The Early Learning Goals (ELGs) are the goals or targets children are expected to achieve at the end of their Reception year. They will be working towards these goals throughout the Early Years Foundation Stage. There are 17 ELGs across all the areas of learning as shown in the document below.

Superbia Perseverantia et Passionem Pride, Perseverance and Passion